Posted by: tompkins2003 | 21 August 2008

And so it began…

Greetings esteemed readers …                                                

(of which I hope there will be many,.. okay, at least a few),

  Welcome to “All History Is Local”:  a place where I will (humbly) attempt to amuse, educate, and hopefully foster an interest in your own local history.  My name is Andy, and I’m a local history librarian at the Columbus Metropolitan Library.  I am a self-professed history and genealogy geek, so my vocation is my avocation and visa versa.  I have been pretty much a life-long resident of Ohio, and since childhood I have been learning about and researching Ohio (local) history as well as family history.  I invite the reader to introduce him/herself to me and our nascent community, and to post comments on items of interest. 

  My plan with this blog is to bring to you items of local historical interest, specifically related to Columbus, Ohio, and more generally, the state of Ohio.  Also, as a seasoned genealogist of 20 years, there may be an occasional post with a genealogical bent.  I’ll try to avoid weighting the blog too heavily in the genealogy direction,…but as “all history is local” this will, sometimes be the nature of the beast.

  Having had a personal blog before, this will be my first foray into a themed blog.  Up to this point, blogging was always just a random conglomeration of thoughts du jour, so this will be a new experience in some ways.  I’m excited to bring local history out of the library stacks and into the blogosphere, and I whole-heartedly invite discussion from (you) the reader.

  So,…come back and visit often.  In fact, bookmark this page now, …as you’ll never know what or who I may talk about next.  Because remember,  “All History Is Local”.

Ciao fer now,

Andy


Responses

  1. This is an awesome blog! Maybe it can carry over when we get the local history page up and running! 🙂

  2. Ok, so where is the book? yes I’m beginning to nag….

  3. Dear SEBooker, …I know….I’m behind schedule. I could make excuses, but really, what good does that do. It doesn’t get the book done any faster. Thanks for stopping by, and please check back periodically. Miss you.

  4. I so totally knew it was you Andy once I ready your blog title.

    Come over and take a look at my blog, it’s where all the cool kids are! jules

  5. Love the blog title… and concept 🙂

  6. Andy, I look forward to checking your blog regularly to see what cool local info stuff you have posted. I love history!


Leave a comment

Categories